How to select a file to process with a Program in Crimson 3.0

Ken Roach

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Hi guys,

I'm an absolute beginner with G3 terminals and Crimson, coming from a deeply PanelView background. I plan to use a G308 terminal.

A couple of months ago I got some great advice on data logging in PLCTalk Thread 442419.

The project cooled off, and now it's hot again.

And now there's another feature I need, that's the opposite of data-logging: I want to browse a directory on the CF card and select a *.CSV file, and then parse each line and the place each value into a Data Tag in the G3, which in turn will write a value to a CompactLogix. There will only be twelve items of data.

The files will get to the CF card via FTP, manually placed there by the customer using a nearby laptop.

I found some nice Crimson 2.0 scripts written by KP_EENG in this thread (PLCTalk Thread 54225) that I will base my "recipe read" program on.

As I understand those example Programs, I need to make the file name part of the program or enter the filename as a String on the terminal.

What I'd prefer is to be able to browse the "recipe folder" to select the file by tapping on it from a list of files.

While I'm busy Reading the Fine Manual, can anyone tell me the basics of how this sort of function could be implemented in Crimson 3 ?

Is there a "select a file and when the user clicks on it run a specific program" object or primitive ?

ken dont know if this helps:
RUNNING PROGRAMS
Programs may be invoked within actions by following the program name with a pair of
parentheses. For example, Program1() will invoke the associated program. The program will
execute in the foreground or background as defined by the program’s properties.
pg 228 rtfm
f= fine LOL
just kidding I know nothing about these YET....

also i find the search feature in adobe usefull

Last edited:
I did figure out how to run Programs based on Actions, like the press or release of a button. :)