Initial Setup of Siemens IM151-7 CPU

JiNCs

Hey folks!

I am about to program my first S7 system from beginning to end using a CPU I have never used before. My experience has been beginning to end S5 systems and modifying existing S7 programs. I consider myself a novice.

The system will be an add-on conveyor that must be pre-programmed and added to an existing S7 system.

I have begun by opening a new project in S7. The CPU I will use to run the add-on conveyor system will use an ET 200S series IM151-7 CPU that will profibus to the existing S7 system.

After opening the MPI net on NetPro I tried to add the CPU device (IM151-7 CPU). It is not shown in the listing under ET 200S. Normally under hardware/options, you update the HW config by downloading from the internet and installing the appropriate hardware in your system.

With this 'new' project, hardware is not shown in the manager and under 'options' on the NetPro window there is no HW update selection.

Keeping in mind that I want to commission the conveyor at a separate location BEFORE adding to the existing system; why is there no HW update selection to add the CPU not currently shown? How do I get the CPU added to start? Can I do this as a standalone system or do I need to add this CPU to the existing system?

In need of help,
Thanks
JiNCs

Hi Jincs.

The IM151-7 CPU hides itself in the Profibus part of the hardware catalog. This despite you can be set it up as MPI only. Nevermind.

Start creating a new S7-300 station in the HW Config.
Then open the PROFIBUS DP folder.
Browse down to ET200S.
Doubleclick on IM151-7 CPU, a 'rack' with the CPU will be added.
Proceed with adding modules to the 'rack'.
You will need a PM module in slot 4.
Add i/o modules in the next slots and so forth.

Hi JiNCs,

You have to add the CPU into the project in HW Config.
1. In Simatic Manager go to Insert>Station>Simatic 300 Station
2. Double Click on the inserted station, then double click Hardware to open HW Config