M580 Modbus RTU Slave

Costi_S

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to Control Expert but currently I'm working with a project in which I have a Slave M580 PLC that is using a NOM0200 module to communicate in Modbus RTU with a Master Display.

After setting up the Channel 1 as a Slave (Address 15) I managed to connect the PLC to the Display and remove the communication error on his screen. Also, using Read_Var i read some datas, which means I was able to set up some sort of communication between the 2 devices.

Do i need also to define a memory area for the data exchange with the display?

In my specifications i need to set up some PDU (Ex: PDU2000, PDU3000, PDU4000,...) read by the Master.
What is the address of the memory area for a certain PDU? Do i need to configure something?

Thanks everyone for your help.

I'm confused. If the M580 is acting as a Modbus slave, then you would not use read_var. The display should poll the PLC for data. Read_var is used when the PLC is acting as a master.

If the display is indeed the master, then it will be configured in some way to read certain Modbus addresses. Are you configuring the display, or do you have a list of Modbus addresses that need to be configured?

Modbus addresses are set by using the address field for a defined variable. Control Expert uses %M for 0x coil addresses and %MW for 4x holding register addresses. I.e. %MW0 would be holding register 40001.

Okey probably read_var was a mistake but
Do you know how can i convert the PDU i have to holding register addresses? Because from my specifications i have to write PDUxxxx U16, not register 40xxxx.
Thanks for your help in advance.

Last edited:
I have no idea what this PDU you're talking about is. That's a generic term for a unit of data in the OSI model as far as I'm aware?

Modbus is very simple. Master uses a function code, a start register and the number of registers to read data.