micro 810 set/reset function

jgrant

I'm pretty new to PLC's so this is a pretty simple question. I have a micro 810 and I'm trying to get the set and reset function to work. I have a NO contact going to the set coil and a NO contact going to the reset coil. Both set and reset coils have the same ID or name. When I debug the contacts turn green showing power to the coils but they won't latch on. I watched a youtube video and it seems like I'm doing everything right.

Is the PLC in run mode?

Is the address you're setting / resetting used somewhere else?

The manual says the associated variable must be an output or user defined.

Last edited:
Yes, it's in run mode. I can see the contacts change state, but the set or reset coils don't change. I am trying it in a simple program with two inputs (NO contacts) and 1 output SETS/Reset coils. They both (set and reset coils) both have the same address.

The NO contacts are not the same contacts are they? If so, you could be turning the coil on and off immediately.

Also- do you have a JSR instruction to get to the routine that has this programming in it?

No, the contacts are different. I is input 0 and the other is input 1. I'm novice enough to not know what JSR is-- jump instruction maybe? I tried using it in a basic program controlling a couple conveyors and couldn't get it to work so I wrote a simple program with only 2 NO contacts and a set coil and a reset coil just to see if I could get it to work and it doesn't. I'm sure it's something pretty simple, but I can't figure it out.

Sorry- should have noticed that this was a Micro 810 and Connected Components project. I guess the simple questions would be- are you sure your inputs are coming on and that they are not on at the same time which would set and reset instantaneously?

Yea, that is what baffles me. It's such a simple program. I can see the one contact change to green telling me it on and the other one stays off, but the set coil or reset coils won't turn on.