MicroLogix 1500 Timer/counter help

Dorrance

Hello my name is Dorrance I am very new to plc programming. I am capable to make simple programs like inputs that trigger outputs but never worked much with timers or counters.
I have a micro logics 1500 and need it to count (from a prox) how many times it cycles in 5 or 10 seconds. If the count is too high trigger an alarm if not reset the count and start over.
Basically what I want to do get an alarm when a pump runs dry. In normal operation it goes 3 to 4 strokes in 5sec when out of product it pumps 6 to 8 strokes in 5sec.
I have been working with relays and picax pic chip but not having good luck I would really like to start over with a plc

Could you use your prox drive a CTU counter and then use a GRT instruction to alarm if the stroke count is greater than 5? Not sure about the 5-10 second window. Maybe a timer that runs for 10 sec and then resets. The prox rung could have the TT (timer Timing) bit in it to make sure it is counting strokes in that 10 sec span. hmm something isn't quite right there. Hmmm.

In full disclosure I'm pretty new to PLC programming too so I may not be the best person to listen to but might get some ideas flowing for you!

Last edited:
Yes this is what I want to do but unsure how. When I wrote 5 to 10 sec it was meant to be a generic number I would really like to use 5sec just to catch the pump faster but thought fine tuning would be needed.
There is a lot more to my program I just thought this would be a good starting point.
What I have is 8 ink totes and pumps. What I need to do is be able to monitor all 8 pumps also on the tote there is a steel float that would also be covered by a prox. I will need all 8 to have different outputs and one general reset for all 8.
For instance if pump 1 had its counting prox as I/0 and its float prox I/1 then both will need to set off O/0 and I will also need one input like I/9 to reset all alarms.
I hope this makes enough sense