Mitsubishi FX2N-232IF Communication Help

johnfarrugi

I am working on a job trying to add a FX2N-232IF to a fx3u PLC. I have never worked on a mitsubishi PLC before, although I have years of PLC experience.
From what I see, I can just attach the rs232 module to the rack without changing anything in the program. is this correct?
The application consists of four keyence BL1300 barcode scanners connected to a keyence N-410 Master. When any of the barcodes read, the data is sent back to the FX2N-232IF module in the format:

STX %01 123456789 ETX

The %01 represents the scanner address number which sent the information.

From my understanding, I need to setup a few TO functions to setup the communication in the FX2N-232IF module. Then I need to request a read or FROM command in order to read the buffer in the module.
Does anyone have any examples of this type of code?
I am trying to figure out what happens if I get two scanners that send the information at the same time. How do I only read one command from the buffer?

OK, I have the barcodes communicating to the module and the module transfering the information in the buffers to a few D registers. Now I need to compare the values in the registers with a few constant value to determine which UPC product the barcode scanner read.
Are there ascii registers in the Mitsubishi PLC which will allow me to store a few constant UPC codes to compare against?
Right now the information from my barcode scaners span across 7 D registers as follows:
D100 = 01
D101 = 65
D102 = 33
D103 = 21
D104 = 23
D105 = 71
D106 = 4.

Which would should read 0165332123714 as a UPC code.
Which commands would I use to combine all those registers so I can store them into a single register to be able to compare the value with a constant?