Motor rated frequency???

Mr_B

If u check on a AC motor name plate, u get certain information like Motor Rated Current, Supply Voltage, frequency etc.

My question 2 u is...What exactly does the frequency tell u?

I mean,

does it mean u HAVE 2 supply that frequency

or

simply that only if u apply that frequency, the rpm rated will be right.

Reason I'm asking, is that our drives can be adjusted to 400Hz max.

So what wud happen if u run a 50Hz motor at, say, 100Hz?

Ya ya I know it will go faster but can u hurt the motor? :D

Ya ya I know it will go faster but can u hurt the motor?
Yes, you can.

There have been many posts on this site regarding motors and variable frequency drives. If you do a search you should find answers to most of your VFD questions.

Steve

Frequency

I am no drive expert but wouldn't the base frequency
of the motor be determined by location? U.S. is
60 hertz , Europe 50 hertz, etc...
The maximum rpm you can safely speed up the motor
should be on the nameplate or data sheet.

that was my understanding as well. But we have 50Hz motors running @ 79Hz
constantly for over a year now hence my confusement.

tx steve, will do a search.

Did the search and read through alota stuff. So I guess only stuff that u need 2 worry abt when upping the frequency wud be loss of torgue and bearings which aren't really an issue.

charlton said:
Did the search and read through alota stuff. So I guess only stuff that u need 2 worry abt when upping the frequency wud be loss of torgue and bearings which aren't really an issue.

Not so.

The nominal frequency of a motor is the motor power frequency (Hz) for which the motor will produce the rated power at the rated speed when getting the rated voltage and drawing the rated current.