need help with PLC 2 to PLC 5 conversion!

LuCyLut

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a college student doing my summer intern. As part of my senior project I need to convert a PLC 2 system into a PLC5. I have very lil PLC knowledge since we don't really learn this stuffs at school. Engineers at work are too busy to help me out so I have to research and learn everything on my own. Can someone please help me as to where should I start? What things I should watch out for when switching the processor? I would appreciate it. Thank you!

As a starting point, you may want to take a look at this technote from the Rockwell Automation Knowledgebase.

I realize that a good portion of this technote is promoting a Rockwell conversion service (which you have been asked to provide :)) , but the section titled "PLC-2 Conversions" includes some useful information (which instructions don't convert, which instructions need to be modified, data table formats, etc.)

Also, it would be helpful to let us know what hardware/software you have been provided with.

Finally, this link from the Rockwell Automation Literature Library provides a PDF user manual for DOS-based PLC-2 to PLC-5 conversion software. Even though the manual is old, it may also contain information that will help in the actual conversion process.

Good luck! I'm sure others on the site will have additional information that will get you on your way.

The list is long but here are some things to check:

The PLC-2 doesn't do DH+ and the PLC-5 doesn't do DH. If data highway is involved you'll need to address this.

The PLC-5 also doesn't do local I/O. If there are remote racks remote I/O adapters will be needed (1771-ASB).

The PLC-2 can power some of its I/O racks with a built in power supply - the 5 can't. You may need additional power supplies.

1 out of 3 ain't good

Doug-P said:

The PLC-2 doesn't do DH+ and the PLC-5 doesn't do DH. If data highway is involved you'll need to address this.