Newbie question, please be gentle

pkociuba

Hi!

I'm a university student taking an automated controls course, and as an assignment, a partner and I were given the task of running a SLC 5/04 with a PanelMate Power 1700. No one at the University has ever been able to successfully run the PLC with this PanelMate, in fact, we've made it the furthest so far.

We've ben able to communicate with the PMP from our pc's via rs232 cables. We've loaded switches and whatnot onto the PMP and been able to edit them and everything. We've also downloaded and run various programs to the SLC with RSlinx, so there's no problem there.

My question is, what do we do next? Do we write a ladder logic program and load it into the PLC via RSlinx, or do we load it through the PMP somehow? I saw an option in RSlinx to run as a server. Is that what i should do?

Another problem we've had is that when downloading to the PMP, the only firmware available is for a PMP 3000. Will this work for the 1700? I can't seem to find firmware for a 1700 anywhere.

Can anyone help, or point us in the right direction? We've been looking through site after site for 3 days now, and all we can find is how to set up the PMP initially. There's not much on actually running a PLC with it.

Thanks in advance

Peter

The PanelMate does not "run" the SLC 5/04. It can only communicate with it. The basic function of the PanelMate is to replace physical, hard-wired pushbuttons and indicators.

How do you plan to have the PanelMate communicate with the SLC? There are several options. If you are going to use serial communications, then you have to download the appropriate serial communications driver to the PanelMate before you download the screen files. (That's what the PanelMate calls a "configuration").