Normally Open/Normally closed

Supersteve

Hello, my name is Steve and im completely new to programming and using plc's

Ive had LogixPro sim for 4 days now and sucessfully managed to program successful logic ladders for the Garage door and the silo.
Although i managed to program the simulators im still not totally understanding the terms "Normally Open" and "Normally Closed"

Probably a silly senseless question but im quite good at asking silly questions so :

Could someone please explain in 'Layman terms' what "Normally Open" and "Normally Closed" mean?

Thank you in advance to anyone that can help.

Hi Steve and welcome to the forums,

Normally Open just means that the contact will prevent 'power' from going through it, unless the address/input that it refers to is ON.

Code:
Power here      Normally Open      No Power here
-------------------| |--------------------------

In this example, if the Normally Open gate isn't energised then power can't get through to the other side.

For instance, in a real world example you may have....

Power here     Light Switch            My Light
-------------------| |--------------------( )

A Normally Closed contact is the opposite...

Code:
Power here    Normally Closed    So.. power here
-----------------|/|-----------------------------

As long as the address/input to which the Normally Closed switch refers ISN'T energised, then power can travel through it.

Hope that makes some sense. If it doesn't then please don't hesitate to ask for clarification.

Cheers

;-)
🍻

In other words.... if there is nothing else having an effect on that contact would it 'normally let power through' (ie Normally Closed) or would it 'stop power going through' (ie Normally Open).

I'll put in my two cents
the terms are not allways correct - But 95%.
This refers to an electrical contact state.
With no power or no force applied to a switch or device, that device is said to be in it's 'NORMAL' State.
(n)TEST WITH THE POWER OFF