normally closed and normally open

jhonnygaddar

hii,i am new to plcs and need to know about NC and NO.
when power is supplied through both NO contact,it closes and powre flows through the rest ofthe circuit.
when a NC contact is used,it must open and power should not flow,but in case of a stop switch,this doesnot happen
i mean when using a start and stop in a ladder program,the normally open strt switch closes and motor starts and if this happpens,then the normally closed stop switch must open and power should not flow...but this doesnt happen
i hope a few of them understaand what i meant

Yes I understand fully. This is the reason that when I tried to learn at home I decided I had an incompetent for an instructor and replaced him (me) with a qualified instructor. Was much better off.

Here is what I did to understand (in class) what is going on here.

Wire a NC to input O configure as NC The output is 0
------ NC to input 1 ------------ NO ------------- 1
-------NO -------- 2 ------------ NO ------------- 2
-------NO -------- 3 ------------ NC ------------- 3

Wire one light to each of the outputs 0, 1, 2, 3.

Now predict what will happen when you
have it deenergized will any lite
energize will any lites lite?
What will the corresponding light do when you press the button (ie if switch is NC on input 0) what will lite on output 0 do?
Etc etc

Do this on paper and then go ahead and energize and test your predictions?

Dan Bentler

Last edited:
hii,i am new to plcs and need to know about NC and NO.
when power is supplied through both NO contact,it closes and powre flows through the rest ofthe circuit.
when a NC contact is used,it must open and power should not flow,but in case of a stop switch,this doesnot happen
i mean when using a start and stop in a ladder program,the normally open strt switch closes and motor starts and if this happpens,then the normally closed stop switch must open and power should not flow...but this doesnt happen