Omron Input Pulse to SET instruction

valerianlin

Hi all,

I am fairly new to PLC programming, and just have a simple program regarding an unlatching input. In the picture below, I have STARTCOIL going to the set instruction for a single acting cylinder, LOCATOR_F. My problem is that once the STARTCOIL is actuated, it stays on, and I cannnot use the RSET instruction on LOCATOR_F.

How would I modify the program to make the STARTCOIL pulse once to set the SET bit, but after that, there is no powerflow through STARTCOIL. In short, I'd like to stimulate a non-latching push button, pushed once then released.

I would appreciate any help.

Thank You

Capture.JPG

It looks like you are programming in CX-Programmer. Depending on the model of PLC there is several ways to accomplish this.
I would use the differentiation on the contact. In CX-Programmer double click on the STARTCOIL contact, then hit Detail>>. At the bottom left of the window you will see the options available.
Differentiation Up means it will only be on for one scan when the input transitions from off to on.

Hope this helps you out.
Regards,

Diff Contact.PNG

Hi glshort, thanks for your reply. This is what I was looking for. However is there a way to make the differential up execute more than one scan cycle? Is there an instruction to reset the scan cycle/differntial up contact without going offline?
Thanks

The differential up will turn on for one scan from a transition from off to on. This will do this every time the input transitions from off to on.
You cannot reset the differential up instruction. It is only on for the single scan during the transition. This will be enough to set your output.

You can write additional code to make a bit turn on for as many cycle counts as you like before turning off.

There are some good examples complete with timing charts in the programming manual of the differential instructions.
What Omron model number are you programming?

Regards,