Panel View Plus 600

AlignPLC

Hello everyone
I have a PanelView Plus 600 that is acting up. To be able to go into our manual operations of the machine it runs, a small fluid cell press, we have to type in a passcode that gives us access to the I/O screen, manual operation buttons, etc. But the issue we have is once we click on that menu screen to get to the passcode screen it immediately kicks us off back to the main screen. Somethings malfunctioning somewhere it seems. My thought is we would need to redownload the program for that HMI again to reset it if somehow it's glitched but I'm a newbie to connecting to HMI's from a laptop. Going forward what needs to happen? From my research I see need an ethernet cord to connect and interface with the HMI but my laptop doesn't have an ethernet port on it. Is there a usb to ethernet cord I could use instead? And with FactoryTalk... What do I need to do there? I see on my computer I have FactoryTalk Activation manager but no actual Factory Talk View file yet. I got a RW TechConnect contract a couple months ago to update our RSLogix 500 but FactoryTalk wasn't something I needed to worry about at the time so I didn't dig into it at that time. From my limited understanding I need FactoryTalk to interface with the HMI correct? Sorry to dump a whole lot. I appreciate any help
Thanks guys

The first thing I would try is to power down the HMI and gently clean it. Use low pressure compressed air (like canned air) to remove any hard/gritty stuff and then use a soft, clean cloth. You shouldn't need anything else. Check it for cracks and deep scratches. It may be registering a spurious touch.

Also try a USB mouse plugged into the HMI.