PanelView 1000 Panelbuilder32 Upload Program Issue

rzielke

Hi All,

I have an issue trying to upload a program from an existing Panelview 1000 terminal that I was hoping I might be able to get some help with. I am not a controls engineer and the one we had on staff moved on without leaving a lot of documentation, so I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge.

Issue:
PV1000 is showing an error 60 blue screen that we cannot always recover from. We have purchased a replacement PV1000 to install into the machine but I am not sure that the most recent backup of the program on our network is the most current. I would really prefer to upload the program from the old PV1000 terminal to download onto the replacement PV1000 terminal. However, when I try to do this, I am not successful. I was able to find a compact flash card and adapter for use based on some reading I did on this forum, and I can download a program to the new terminal with it, but any time I try to upload the program from the old terminal to the memory card it immediately goes into the blue error 60 screen. So, I am trying to upload the program using the RS232 port and panelbuilder32 but I cannot get the computer to communicate with the PV1000. It always fails at "Identifying operator terminal". I am not sure what else to do from here, I'm sure I'm missing something in the driver/comms setup. I have made sure that the USB/Serial cable is in COM1, I have tried different baud rates without success, and I have also tried the auto-configure option when trying to configure an RS232 DF1 device, but that always fails. Anyone have any ideas on what I can do?

Below is the hardware/software information of the old PV1000 terminal I am trying to upload the program from.

Panelview 1000 Part # 2711-T10C8 (with printer port disabled)
Firmware: V04.20
Serial Cable: Belkin F2N209-15-T
USB-Serial Converter: Tripp-Lite Keyspan with mini null modem mini adapter
Panelbuilder32 Version 3.83.00
RSLinx Version 2.57.00