PLC 5 Types

Mark Wilson

Hello

I am glad I found this forum as I am a recent EE Graduate (May 2013)and I have just started my first job this week.

This is what I would consider a large site compared to some of the places I did Co-Op work.

They have not had anyone in the EE position for about a year and the Maintenance crew has been self supervised. There is a Maintenance supervisor on each shift and a Maintenance Manager but the E&I group will report to me as soon as I get my feet wet.

Looks like everything has ben done with contractors and not documented well

This is all very new and diffrent from the class room experience so I plan on asking a lot of questions here.

From the older threads I have been reading today this appears to be a Treasure Trove of knowledge.

Looks like I have a real mess to deal with as there appear to be little or no backups and very little documentation but it's a huge automated process.

Any advice or tips? It's one of those situations where you don't really know where to start. This is only my 3rd day and I already feel overwhelmed.

There are lots of PLC 5 processors and models. Where can I find the best details on these? They appear to be Obsolete?

Greetings Mark and welcome to the forum.