PLC5 IFE and OFE scaling question

danielsaii

Hello everyone, I am migrating a PLC5 program controlling a crane to a siemens s7-1500 PLC, but since i have no experience programming PLC5 I have a question about the OFE and IFE cards.

The IFE analog inputs are scaled from 0 to 4095, and the OFE analog outputs are scaled from 0 to 1200.

I have read the manuals and as i understand this means the input is scaled in 4096 parts from 0 to 10v, and the output in 1201 parts from 0 to 10v.

When the crane is running in automatic the output is given values from 0 to 1200 as necessary, calculated by the PLC.

BUT when the crane is running in manual, the analog input values (analog stick) from 0 to 4095 are transfered directly to the analog output (scaled from 0 to 1200) to the vfd.

Now the question... if i put a bigger value than 1200 into the output, how is this treated? what happens? Or, am i misunderstaing completely whats going on?

Because when the input is at about 2.93v = 1200 counts, in manual the output is 1200 counts = 10v, but as the input grows past 2.93v the counts will grow past the 1200 scaled into the output, at least this is how i interpret it.

Sorry if this is really obvious, I'm not used to PLC5 nor AB.

I wish I had the availabilty to test this on hardware, but i have no acces to a PLC5 neither an OFE card.

Thank you all.

It depends upon the specific OFE module, the on-board jumper settings and the configuration data transferred to the module by a Block Transfer Write to the module in the user program. If I'm not mistaken, the 1771-OFE modules are all capable of 12 bit resolution, and the 0-1200 count scaling that you are seeing reflects a non-standard configuration.