Programming a Kill Switch Please Help!

eckhoff.julia

Hello! I am extremely new to PLC programming and would be incredibly grateful for anyone's input and/or advice. I am not entirely sure how much information I need to provide for other to be able to help, so if I leave something crucial out, please let me know.
I am using Click Programming Software. Attached is my program that I have written so far.
The issues that I am having are:

1. On rung 5 where I do not have a coil contact I am trying to put in some sort of kill function that stops EVERYTHING. Is that possible?

2. When I do a syntax check I get an error for rungs 1 and 4 that says: "All inputs of the box instruction must originate from the same branch." What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!

1. What do you mean by 'stops everything'. Be specific. If you mean 'turn off outputs' then place a NC of the STOP condition in line with each output. If you want to stop the timers then place the contact in line with the enable line. If you want to reset the retained timer or the counter you will place a NO of that condition in parallel with the current reset condition - CT1.

2. In each of these split it into two rungs. In the first rung, for example, split it into one rung which has X001 as a contact and Y001 as a coil. Then, in the next rung have a timer with X001 in line to the enable input.

Last edited:
1. On rung 5 where I do not have a coil contact I am trying to put in some sort of kill function that stops EVERYTHING. Is that possible?
It is not only possible, but highly recommended that you not EVER write a program to start some machine without including an easy way to also STOP the machine. In fact, put in your STOP control FIRST before you do anything else. You will find that easier than adding it at the end (when you discover that the thing is running wild and you can't STOP it).

Thank you both for your replies!