Pump Control Method

Hey,
I am a newbie when it comes to process control and PLCs as I am just out of college and at my first job. I am trying to get a system set up that will pump air through two separate, independent systems using only one blower. Each leg of the system will require a different flow rate profile than the other (e.g. 20 min at one flow rate, ramp to another flow rate for 30 min). The profiles will need to be changed often and so I think each leg will need its own programmable controller that will have an input from an LFE and control the process via a butterfly valve. What I am unsure of is how to control the blower with these two independent control loops. My plan is to have both controllers output the valve signal to something that is capable of comparing the two signals and transmitting the larger of the two signals to a VFD to control the blower. So the leg of the blower system that requires the most flow will be the signal getting to the VFD. My question is can a PLC compare the two signals and output the higher of the two? Is there a simpler method? How ignorant am I when it comes to process control? Any advice is appreciated.

pumpdiagram.jpg

If mine I would
Have only one PLC.
It would sense "A" dP if valve A is open and "B" dP if B is open. I assume dP is proportional to flow.

I think if BOTH A and B are NEVER to be open I would have limit switches and an error logic to send alarm for either both valves open or dP (flow) in both A and B.

Depending on what flows you have ie are A and B matched (more than likely NO) then you could control the VFD based on dP ie flow. You may be able to have PLC control VFD (motor speed thus flow) depending on blower type - check your performance curves. Do not forget the affinity laws where power is the cube of speed change.

Dan Bentler

IF you have a lot of powder in the lines I would keep that in mind - tends to plug sensors.