RS logix 500 programming problems

WrongWay

Greetings,
Long time listener, first time caller....
I am fairly new to this so bear with me.
My problem(s) are with the use of integers to prompt message displays on a PV600, also program flow is problematic.I have tried ADD and MOV instructions to N7 to ensure part assembly is in correct sequence(Pokayoke, or at least close to it.) As I work through the sequence to test the install, when I make a pick bin sensor(light curtain) the input makes correctly and then all hell breaks loose. When the rung is true I want a value to move to N7, well when on rung 005 of the main program is true N7:0 jumps to a value of 2 instead of 1 and the PV600 message display jumps to the ERROR state.
Here's a copy of the program to anyone that has not only read this far, but cares to venture further.
Thank you

I cant open your program at the moment
The mov command will be overwritten by the next mov command or not be released if the command is still enabled - program for this -

use a b3: bit in your program that will enable you to toggle on / off while you are testing - you can prevent the program from continuing during your test.

Thank Ian, I am intending to overwrite the previous MOV to the next integer in sequence, i will look at the potential releasing issue.
Regarding the b3, i think i have seen these called a temp block bit that prevents rungs from scanning?

sorry for missleading you
B is an auxillary bit or word
b3 is the default (you can create b9 or n9 or other - see manual)
- b3:0 first word - b3:0.0 first bit last bit b3:0.15
- b3:1 etc.

normally use a spare unused bit like b3:0.0 then you can force togle it on or off and it will not change state until you change it back
Also program an always on bit and an always off bit - handy for testing

RS Logix programming

Hello Iant
please what do you mean by "always on bit" and "always off bit"
I also have a basic level.Hope to read you soon.
Best regards

two bits - you choose