RSView authentication problem

linkman

Background: hard drive failure, no .mer or .apa files found on the recovered drive. No backup of the application. Installed new hard drive, installed RSView SE server 25 and RSView SE view client and recovered licenses. RSView is version 4.00 CPR 7. An outside vendor setup the PLC and RSView. I am a newbie to all of this and it is unlikely I can get any information from that vendor, if they still exist. I only have a demo version of RSView Studio. This is the only PC used for this so I assume everything is local and not network (until I need to connect to the PLC of course).

I was able to copy the SE client files from the failed drive. When I launch it using RSView SE client, it pops up with "You do not have security privileges to access this application."

I am logged into FactoryTalk locally. I have configured this account for full access to this application using the FactoryTalk Administration Console. I know I'm using the correct password because I get a different message when using the wrong password.

Did the vendor setup the application to require a different userid? Is there a way I can discover it? Am I totally out of luck trying to recover the application in this manner?

Ugh. Recovering damaged RSView SE systems even if you have all the source information is difficult enough.

Was this a "Distributed" or a "Standalone" RSView SE system ? Distributed systems always use the FactoryTalk Network Directory, while Standalone systems use the FactoryTalk Local Directory. The activation key might tell you, or the part number of the Server if you know it.

The best thing to do is create a user called Administrator, who is actually a Windows Administrator. That usually gets you into the default account for the project. Users linked to a Windows Domain are different from local Windows users, even if they have the same name; was this system integrated into a Windows Domain ?