S7 SCL not the same for every Siemens PLC?

Hello.

I'm pretty new to PLC things, come from a C etc. programming background.
Found this nice thread here:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=34840

I have a Siemens 1212C PLC here, using TIA 11 development environent.
So I tried to implement e.g. the offsetof example of that thread, and already failed when I tried to enter, for a FB, a temporary variable of the
type ANY, like is used on the example.
TIA would tell me "not allowed here".
(as it did with "Pointer", which I also found mentioned in a SCL document).

Well, now is this the S7-SCL language, or what?
Can somebody shed some light on it for me?

Regards,

You are probably looking at S7-300/400 documents.

The S7-1200 is a new small PLC which does not have the same structure as the older PLC's.

or you might not have the proper firmware. there were some changes in scl support for 12xx series in firmware 2.0 and then in 3.0 rev.

Well those have the 3.0 firmware.

It's a bit weird seeming from my perspective that a different hardware would have different amount of support for that "high level" language SCL, which gets compiled to a sort of assembly code anyway, or am I mistaken?

I've never used SCL in TIA portal but I seem to remember reading that the editor handles the declarations differently. Do you need to put the declarations in a separate header section in TIA Portal?

Nick

I've never used SCL in TIA portal but I seem to remember reading that the editor handles the declarations differently. Do you need to put the declarations in a separate header section in TIA Portal?

Nick

Well that irritated me at first, trying to put declarations in the "source file".
You're not supposed to, the source "file" you get to edit is only the function body. All declarations are done on some tab page that also opens when you double click on the function in the list of functions and data blocks etc.