SCL 500 to Compactlogix

ALCARA_PLC

Hi everyone,

I am new to this amazing world of PLC, well... I mean, in practice, since I already knew electronics, programming languages, IT, and some other stuff related. But, just like learning a new spoken language, it's not the same having the theory than applying it to the real practice.

I am currently working at a facility with a lot of old and obsolete equipment, and thank God everything is from Rockwell. My target is to upgrade all these control devices in order to standardize hardware and software.

My old equipment has SCL5/04 or 5/05 controllers and I am looking to replace them for Compaclogix, due to this looks to match what I need.

I already got some documents from Rockwell site, but sometime the information on them are either not clear or incomplete.

Following the recommendations of a former mentor, that used to say all the time 'R.T.F.M.', I won't ask for specific help of how to do something, but I will greatly appreciate your help on sharing some documentation or websites to take a read to it. Any advice is well received as well.

Well... Hope I can become a provider on this site and not only a requestor, one day.

My advice would be if the old equipment is working, do not replace it yet. Make a plan, but you shouldn't replace things "just because" they are old.

I agree with Robb B. Have a plan, even start getting some hardware on hand to practice with and to be ready (lead times are better than they were but some components are still pretty rough), but don't take it down until you need a new feature or something big breaks. Do you guys already have a license for RSLogix 500? If so, you can probably keep those running for a very long time to come. The SLC500 is/was a pretty solid platform.

Definitely get the AB manuals and such, but it'll be very helpful to get the hardware and set it up on your desk so you can figure out the differences between the 500 and 5000 platforms. A few other ideas: