Siemens S7-1200 Upload

yapchoonkiat

I am new to siemens and I am trying to backup program from a S7-1200. Firstly I tried to connect using TIA Portal V16, then it shows the program was in V11 SP2.

However when I try to connect using V11, I am able to go online and view the program blocks, I have tried all the method I have seen online or on YouTube (unspecified cpu model then detect, upload from online access etc) but all the upload options were not enabled. Then saw another method is using the compare function and switch the action to upload and execute, but i only get either download or delete from the selections.

Then I saw from siemens website that V12 should be used to upload from V11 (maybe I understand wrongly). When I try to upload using V12, it shows error because the program is in V11.

Any expert can advice how to backup the program from this V11 S7-1200 PLC?

According to this FAQ it should be possible to upload from V11 to V12. Follow option "L".
https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/us/en/view/97554052

L means
You want to upload the software from a device into your project.

Note 3 says 'L' for all S7 CPUs in Compatibility mode

I think you have to setup a dummy CPU (same type no, same IP address), and then upload with 'compatibility mode'. Not sure what that means.

According to this FAQ it should be possible to upload from V11 to V12. Follow option "L".

L means

I think you have to setup a dummy CPU (same type no, same IP address), and then upload with 'compatibility mode'. Not sure what that means.

If I recall, "compatibility mode" meant opening a V11 project in V12 without migrating it to V12. Something I forgot we used to be able to do.

But yeah, you won't be able to "upload as new station", but you can upload the SW into an already existing PLC in the project. If you don't have the original, you create a dummy CPU like JesperMP said.

L means