Siemens TIA Portal V13 SP1 HMI Buttons

bagged2drag

I am hoping someone can help me.

I have a siemens system in our facility that was built by a 3rd party. It arrived in less than stellar fashion, and doesn't work as it should. After 10 months of being here and not getting any resolve, I am going after it myself to tackle what should be relatively mundane issues to fix. That said, I have an AB background, and have worked with Automation direct, eaton, and fanuc controllers. I am new to siemens. I have made my way around the ladder pretty well, but I am having some issues with the HMI. Specifically, the vendor programmed in manual controls for our system, but they do not all work. I checked the HMI tags; they appear to match the plc tags as I expect, but when I press the HMI buttons on the screen, in online mode, I cannot see the tags become energized in the ladder. The corresponding manual controls subsequently do not work. The manual controls that do work, I can see the bits energize when I press the HMI buttons.

Is there anything specifically I should be looking at that I am overlooking possibly? Typically, the HMI is an easy part of a project, but I am a bit dumbfounded by my inability to figure out something so seemingly simple.

Thanks,

KK

ST30 Reject Open 2.jpg ST30 Reject Open Rung.jpg ST30 Reject Open.JPG

Also look to see that the M bit used is not being overwritten in the logic. For instance, M30.3 could be getting stepped on by the usage of MB30, MW29-MW30, etc.

Set the addressing to "absolute" and not symbolic..

(It works with symbolic too, but you have to recompile and download both plc and hmi everytime you add a tag in the m-memory. If you don't random tags work)

Also look to see that the M bit used is not being overwritten in the logic. For instance, M30.3 could be getting stepped on by the usage of MB30, MW29-MW30, etc.