SLC 5/03 on/off temp control

chipr97

Needing some help. I have a machine that was put in storage and has ended up in my lap. It had a 5/02 originally but the card was pulled and I have no program. It is tied to a 2700-K10C3 panelview. I have replaced it with the 5/03. First problem is no program for the plc. It has 3 barrel temp cards and one thermal couple card. I have no experience writing PID loop or on off temp control. Looking for help or samples if possible.

I can give you some basics starting with the following process assumptions:

a) 3 Barrel Temp Cards indicate to me that this is an extruder
b) The 3 Barrel Temp Cards are Discrete Output Cards that fire Solenoid Valves for Cooling & Solid State Relays (SSRs) for electric resistance heating.

This application is typically done with Proportional + Integral + Derivative (PID) feedback control. The SLC-500 processors have a PID instruction.

Basics for PID feedback control with Time Proportioning Output:

1) Response of these type of Process PID control loops is slow

Example:Electric Resistance PID update times are in the 1.0 to 2.0 second range compare to <10 msec for a Current Minor Loop in Digital DC Drive (Reliance AutoMax)

2) The SLC-5/02 cycle time will probably be in the 10 to 20 msec range.

3) The Barrel Temperature Input from the Thermocouple card is the PV input to the PID instruction & should be filtered (ie:Moving Average) to minimize Common Cause Variation.

4) The output from the PID instruction will be 0.0% to 100.0%.

5) The PID input output will be "Split Range" which means 0.0% is Max Cooling / 50.0% is No Cooling & No Heat / 100.0% is Max Heating

6) The Analog 0.0% to 100.0% PID instruction output will modulated by "Time Proportioning" the Discrete Outputs to the Solenoid Valves & SSRs.

Example: a) With an Output Cycle Time of 2.0 sec & a PID output of 37.5% (50.0% - 37.5% = 25.% of 0.0% to 50.0%) the Cooling Discrete Output would be ON for 0.5 sec & OFF for 1.5 sec.