Student need help with RS logix 500

plcstudent123

Hey guys I'm new to this so I apoligize in advance if I'm not specific enough or use the wrong words. So my problem is when I try to go online with my ladder logic, Rs logix seems to open up another project. I configured the driver (RS-232) in rs linx, I went back to rslogix and went to communications, found my driver and I try to upload my file. Everything looks normal up until it finishes uploading and it opens up another project, which another student probably did. I have done this before and never encountered this problem. Now it seems that it's doing it on every computer. Am I doing something wrong? Thanks for all the help.

It sounds like a different project has been downloaded to the PLC. Start up offline with your own original project and re-download it to the PLC.

Thanks bernie_carlton.......i was trying to upload my file instead of downloading it to the PLC.
That is a very common mistake now, but it hardly ever occurred before 1985 and the beginning of the Internet. Up until that time (and as RSLogix still defines the meanings), "download" meant to move something from MY computer to some other device or computer. "Upload" meant to move something from another device or computer to THIS computer.

Now, when people need files from an Internet source, they see the big words "DOWNLOAD THIS FILE" and think they are downloading to their computer. No, they are downloading FROM the source computer, but UPLOADING to their OWN COMPUTER. It is a hopeless word battle though. These terms are destined to be forever confused by the majority of people. I just thought some of you might actually want to know the correct original meanings. Now you can tell your kids, "I actually remember when download meant to upload.

DOWNLOAD.JPG

Last edited: