[Studio5000] Insert a char before every occurence of space chars from a string

Nico38

Hello guys,

I am working with a CompactLogix, which communicates over Ethernet/IP with a pin marker.
Basically, The PLC sends the texts to be marked to the marking UC, and then it triggers the marking.

The marking UC doesn't accept space characters into the texts string to be marked. To get rid of this situation, every space characters must be escaped with '\' character.

Example :
Text to mark : 'This is the content to print'
String to send to marking UC : 'This\ is\ the\ content\ to\ print'

What would be the cleanest way to achieve such a goal ?
Could you give me some tips, to help me start with that task, because I am not an expert with Allen-Bradley PLC programming.

Thanks in advance for your help

Hey Nico38,

Welcome to the forum!

Do you always send the same content?
Does the size of string to print vary? Do the # of words vary as well?

I'd likely use a "FIND" and "INSERT" instruction set.
Look for the first space character using the "FIND" - you should return the position of the space in the string.
Check for the next by starting at the located character +1.

Use the insert instruction by taking the RESULT from the FIND and dropping in your "" character.

Likely need a bit of finessing, but would get the job done.
Good luck!

...use a "FIND" and "INSERT" instruction set. ...

MOV 1 inext OTE index.0

LBL loop XIC Do_escape LEQ inext thestring.LEN FIND String_tag Space inext inext GRT inext 0 INSERT String_tag Backslash inext String_tag ADD inext 2 inext JMP loop

OTU Do_escape

• String_tag is the STRING tag to be modified
  • Space is a STRING tag of .LENgth 1 containing a space character (ASCII 32; $20)
  • Backslash is a STRING of .LENgth 1 containing a backslash character (ASCII 92; $5C)
  • Do_escape is a one-shot BOOLEAN tag that is OTLed to 1 whenever a new string arrives in String_tag, and has not yet had its spaces escaped
Caveats