Synchronizing access to PLC data block (Siemens S7 1200)

zoomable

Hello all,

PLC-programming noob here.

I have multiple clients accessing some data on my Siemens S7 1211C PLC; some OPC clients and some direct (IE).

To avoid potential race conditions I want to synchronize their access using a lock. How does one do that on a PLC?

The OPC server I am using is the integrated OPC server on the S7-1200.

EDIT: looking at https://www.reddit.com/r/PLC/comments/jj3ab6/siemens_s7_with_wincc_oa_hmi_newbie_question/ , I see that the PLC code really only needs to buffer the inputs from the HMI at scan start time, and use only those values. I think this can work, right?

Much thanks.
z

Last edited:
This is a mutual exclusion problem. Operating systems have system calls to gain access to shared resources. PLCs don't have this ability.

The only thing I can think of is have a memory location that keeps track of what device has access to a memory block. Call this location mx. mx should be initialized to 0. To gain access to the memory block the device wanting to access the block should check to see if it is 0. If not then the block is in use. If it is zero the device should write a code into the mx variable and then read back mx to make sure mx has the code that was written. Then the device can access the data block. mx should be reset to 0 when done accessing the data block so that other devices can access the data block.

Now here is the problem. What if device A and device B both want to access the data block at at the same time. Device A set mx ( short fir mutual exclusion ) to its code and device B does the same because it hasn't seen the change made by device B. Device B will over write device A's code without knowing it so device B will be the one with access until it resets mx to 0. When device A reads mx to see if the code belongs to device A it will see that some other device has gain access so device A must wait for mx to be reset to 0 again.