Transfer pulse over a long distance

s10jam

Hello. I have very little experience with PLCs so please bear with me.

Problem: We have a pipe with two meter systems that are 10 miles apart. These meter systems output a square wave pulse that shows how much liquid is flowing through them. If they are equal, everything is fine. If there is significantly more through Meter System A than Meter System B, we know there is a leak. Obviously, we cant just take a 10 mile long wire from Meter System B back to Meter System A to compare them.

Question: With network enabled PLCs, can we configure a PLC at Meter System B to read these pulses and then, over our existing network, recreate these pulses through another PLC at Meter System A for comparison?

Hello. I have very little experience with PLCs so please bear with me.

Problem: We have a pipe with two meter systems that are 10 miles apart. These meter systems output a square wave pulse that shows how much liquid is flowing through them. If they are equal, everything is fine. If there is significantly more through Meter System A than Meter System B, we know there is a leak. Obviously, we cant just take a 10 mile long wire from Meter System B back to Meter System A to compare them.

Question: With network enabled PLCs, can we configure a PLC at Meter System B to read these pulses and then, over our existing network, recreate these pulses through another PLC at Meter System A for comparison?

You could put a PLC at each location, and have them communicate, yes. However, it probably doesn't make sense to try to have the PLC's communicating pulses. I would think it would make more sense to have each PLC monitor its own flow meter, and turn it into an integer/real, and then the PLC's can compare those. I'm not familiar with the process, so I don't know what math would most usefully transform the pulses into data. You could want a first order filter, or an avg of the last 15 minutes, or a running total, maybe.