Trouble Going Online With Micrologix

BarryL

Lifetime Supporting Member
Thanks to all, I have learned a lot from reading the threads posted on this site.

This is my first attempt to post a thread, so I will try to state the problem clearly.

I am trying to learn as much as I can at home, and be as thrifty as possible. I have the LogixPro CD, and Phil's Book. I have done many of the learning exercises that come with LogixPro, so I am familiar with the basics of ladder logic.

The problem I have with simulators is they do not teach you how to connect and communicate with a real processor. In an attempt to learn this vital skill, I downloaded from Rockwell the free Rslogix 500 Starter For 10 Pt Micrologix 1000 and Rslinx Lite.
I also purchased a Micrologix 1000 Model # 1761-L10BWB Series E
and a 1761-CBL-PM02 Cable, both were bought on Ebay.

When powered up the Micrologix Power and Run leds come on and some of the outputs change state. I believe this indicates that there is a program running in the processor.

When I connect the cable, and start Rslinx, and do the superwho function in Rslinx it shows the processor as active. When I do the diagnostics on the processor it shows communication status active, and packets being sent and received.

When I try to go online with Rslogix it gives an error "No response from processor at selected path/node!" "cannot connect to remote emulator".

Attached is a Word .doc file with screen shots that may help.

I have searched the Rockwell knowledge base, and the help files in Rslinx and Rslogix, but have found no help with this issue.

Thanks in advance.
Barry

When you just pulldown the "Go Online" button, RSLogix attempts to use the RSlinx path that is stored in the Project file. ( Stored in the Processor properties.)