Trying again: wireless transmission w/a PLC5

mdfoust

Hi everyone/anyone,

I posted yesterday on this question and was probably too vague. I will try to describe again. I have a PLC5 acting as a master in a wireless communication setup with Phoenix (Omnex) radios. I am successful at retrieving analog data, but can't read the digital. From discussions with the reps, I have configured the serial port correctly and it appears I am transmitting and receiving data between the radios. The analog register values are being sent to starting register N7:16. The digital data in the radios begin at N8:2. For my first read msg I give the target address as 0. When I do this I am able to mirror the data into register in the PLC5 just fine for the analog. But, because the target address must be octal, I do not know how to retrieve the data from N8:0. I have tried several things that haven't worked. Any help/thoughts on this is appreciated.

Thanks,
mdfoust

For one thing...

N8:xx is not a possible address in a PLC5. Data file #8 is fixed as "floating point" it would be F8:xx. If you have digital data it would most likely be in an N or B file.

The N8 register resides in the radios. I am just trying to read this into the PLC5. I can read the data into N7 registers from the msg block.

It would be great if you would post the part numbers of your Phoenix/Omnex radio products. I *think* that you are using their I/O system that emulates PLC/SLC registers, rather than acutally connecting a PLC or SLC to their serial radios.

You also may be misunderstanding the difference between a DF1 network "address" and a data table "address". The DF1 address is the node number for the emulated controller at your radio location. The data tables in a PLC/SLC controller themselves have File Numbers (3,4,5,6,7,8, etc) associated with standard data types (Boolean, Timer, Counter, Control, Integer, Floating-Point, etc).