TwinCat PLC v2.11 Question and help needed

RAYBRITO

Hi,
I have no knowledge of TwinCat:sick:
We have a system running TwinCat PLC v.2.11 on a XP computer, EtherCAT BECKHOFF EK1100, 8 24 vOLTS i/O, 4 Axys.and for HMI something call UVIS 4.7.
such computer stop working, I opened it and found a bad series of components on the mother board, so the MB is shot.
we have back ups of the hard drive.
we contacted vendor and they want 6K for a refurbished computer or over 35K to upgrade our system.
So I have a newer XP computer and loaded TwinCat on it (30 days trial)
Question can I upload the code from the PLC? (something like AB software)
Where can i find the UVIS software?
Any reference literature to speed learn TwinCat?
Any help will be really appreciated:D

EK1100.jpg

I've only messed with Beckhoff a handful of times, but if you have the TwinCat software and assuming that the trial version has upload functions, try following this example

https://www.dmcinfo.com/latest-thin...-and-monitor-code-on-a-beckhoff-twincat-3-plc

By the way, your photo looks like the Beckhoff EtherCAT equivalent of Point IO, so once you get online you should be able to monitor everything on that remote rack. And sorry but I can't help you with the HMI, I've never worked with UVIS

Last edited:
If you do have backups of the hard drive of the failed PC, it might be a good idea to contact Beckhoff tech support first. They might advise you on a path to restore the working TwinCAT program on a new PC or put you in contact with a local Beckhoff guru nearby. In theory, if there is a good hard drive image, everything you need is there.

You will also need to contact Beckhoff in order to restore the lost runtime TwinCAT licenses. Hopefully there is some information from the machine builder on that.