Upload from a Siemens 1515SC Failed right from the start

paredeso

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi All,

I'm new to Siemens PLCs.

I have a device that have a Siemens 1515SC IPC ruining the control and HMI applications, its documentation states that the version is v13 sp1 update8.
Currently I have TIA v13 sp2 update4 installed in the laptop.
The objective is to have a Backup.
I create a New Project (no device) and proceeded to upload from found device. and it fails right away.
also,
I created a new project and added the appropriate open controller. It failed the same way.

Any suggestions in how to get the backup?

Welcome to the forum! What error message do you get? Also how confident are you that the actual version in the PLC matches what the documentation says, is it possible someone upgraded it to a newer version? I would also try to get an offline copy of the PLC logic and upload into that, instead of trying to upload into a blank project

You say you need a backup. Do you need an upload of the project that you can edit in Portal, or is a binary backup acceptable, for device replacement similar to memory card transfer?

See this chart on SIOS which shows version upload compatibility. V13SP2 isn't listed, which makes me hope it SHOULD be compatible with V13SP1, but who knows.

https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/us/en/view/97554052

Agree, what does your error say? That's the most important thing.

speculation: is it a safety PLC? uploading those wasn't possible for a while, and even now it requires a setting to be enabled/compiled/downloaded before the upload is possible.

I have a device that have a Siemens 1515SC IPC ruining the control and HMI applications,
you mean "I have a device that have a Siemens 1515SP IPC running the control and HMI applications,"
Or do you really mean "ruining the control and HMI applications" ? :)

its documentation states that the version is v13 sp1 update8.