VMWare snapshots, cloning, advance users please..

Paullys50

Lifetime Supporting Member
Well, I am a user of VMWare, for about a year consistently now. I have workstation and I am trying to figure out a good method to develop a "master" VM, which contains a snapshot as I install software and new versions of software. I want to just have a single VM to allow me to change software revisions versus currently I have a VM for each software variant.

Once I have a "Master" VM developed, I would like to then go to a specific snapshot, then clone that snapshot to a new VM. This clone VM would be used for the current project. This would allow me to build simulation platforms for a specific project. Because I have a master VM I won't have to worry about VM's getting bloated over time with various project files.

Here is a snapshot plan I have in mind:

|
|
Base Windows XP
|
|
Factory Talk Services/Activation
|
|
RSLogix 5, 500, 5000
|
|
+----------------+--------------------------+
| | |
| | |
FTView ME 5.0 SQL Express 2005 SQL Express 2008
| | |
| | |
FTView ME 5.1 InTouch 10.0 InTouch 10.1
| | |
| | |
FTView ME 6.0 InTouch 10.0.2 InTouch 10.1.SP3

You get the idea...is this possible? From what I have read it seems that this should be.

Now, my main question is VM size. I know the master will become extremely large, probably 40+ gigs. Will a clone of a snap shot essentially be an entire clone of the master? Or, can you clone just the snap shot and reduce the VM size?

I would be interested in everyone's approach.

Hi there Paul I am not an advanced user but I think what your asking is a copy of the Harddrive of the Virtual Machine If this is the case you could just copy the .vmdk for me this will be Windows XP Professional.vmdk Just rename the file and then when you create a new VM just Change the location to where the copy is This is done under Name the Virtual Machine. I hope that this helps you. Steve