WonderWare Historian (null) tag value

TheColt46

So I'm trying to make a tag I created in WonderWare Historian display the correct tag values on the inTouch client but it is currently showing null. I know the tag is working correctly because it is displaying a dynamic value on its window on inTouch, but it seems something isn't configured correctly on the historian. All tags in the historian were created in the Application Server using MDAS, and reference a MSSql server on a separate server. My tag was created in the exact same way as which I described, so I'm wondering if there is something I need to do on the MSSql server in which the tags are queried. You probably can tell I'm new to historian as well as MSSql so I sure I'm missing a critical step and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

You should be able to locate it looking at the MSSql queries that the historian uses. It should point you to the database.

You should not be going into the MSSQL side of things, especially without experience.!!
If the tag has been created in App server, you should see it under MDAS on the historian config.
It sounds like the historian is not connecting to the app engine correctly…

It sounds like you think I shouldn't have to mess with anything on the database itself. I know the app engine is connected to the historian correctly because the tags that were already there using the MDAS are working. I created my new tag on the MDAS using the same parameters as the ones already on there but it is showing a null value on the historical trend. Thanks for the feedback guys.

It sounds like you think I shouldn't have to mess with anything on the database itself.
Correct, App Server does it all for you...