Zebra DS 457 to Allen Bradley Labvolt

TommyDasani

Hello,

I am very new to the plcs and am working on a project that requires a fixed mount barcode scanner to scan packages as they move along a conveyor belt. The barcodes on these packages hold information on where the location of the package needs to go.

Since I am very new to working with Studio 5000, I would like some advice on the steps to take to set up the barcode scanner, how to implement it into the ladder logic, how to store barcode data and send it as an input to be used in other parts of my logic.

We are using an Allen Bradley Labvolt since it is a school project meant for learning purposes. Also I plan to use an ethernet connection between the barcode scanner and the plc.

If more information is needed about this project I will try my best but this is about as much as I know about the project currently.

Thank you

If more information is needed about this project I will try my best but this is about as much as I know about the project currently.
What computer programming experience do you have?

• types of computers e.g. Windows, Linux, embedded, etc.
  • programming languages e.g. Python, Rust, Go, Perl, Bash, C/C++, Java, JavaScript, Node, Fortran, etc.
The key to programming a PLC is managing time, and the PLC scan cycle is the clock. See this video series to understand the PLC scan cycle and how it drives the user program. See this website for the common logic patterns used in PLC relay logic (when to do what).

Almost all computer programs model (simulate) something in the real world. The primary design choice is the level of fidelity in the model: it may model the height products along the conveyor; it will not need to model the color of the operator's socks.

With products on a conveyor, it is common to model the conveyor as an array of bits (or groups of bits a.k.a. integers), where

• the element locations at one end of the array represent the position at the start of the conveyor,