NewBee needs help!!!!

bobc1957

I'm new to PLC programming and need some help. I'm a member of the Reading Company Technical & Historical Society and we're dedicated to preserving the Reading Railroad. we have an HO modular layout that we exhibit at public venues. we're reproducing Hershey Park, in Hershey PA, in HO scale. my job has been to build an operating HO version of the kissing tower ride. I have managed to do that. to control the whole park we are going to use an AB SLC 500 fixed 1747-L30a PLC, 1746-IB16, and 1746-OW16. I have the unit, software, cables, etc. and it works. I have managed to program 9 ride routines. start a timer (load ride), start ride, start a timer (ride duration), stop ride, start again.

I'm having problems programming the kissing tower. I have a lower limit sw. I:1/1, an upper limit sw. I:1/3, a hoist motor (to raise the cabin) O:0/0, and a reversing relay O:0/1 (to change motor polarity). this is what needs to happen:
bottom limit sw closed I:1/1, then start load timer T4:0.
load timer done T4:0/dn, then latch and turn on hoist motor O:0/0.
top limit sw closed I:1/3, turn off output and start ride timer T4:1.
ride timer done T4:1/dn , turn on and latch reverse relay O:0/1 and hoist motor O:0/0
start again.

this is what I programmed:
0000 I:1/1 T4:0

0001 T4:0/dn _________ O:0/0
O:0/0 * not I:1/3

0002 I:1/3 T4:1

0003 T4:1/dn ___________O:0/0
O:0/0 * not I:1/1 _______O:0/1

lines 0000, 0002, and 0003 work great! in 0001 O:0/0 won't turn on???? the only way I can get it to work is by changing O:0/0 in line 0001 to a different output say O:0/2. if I do that then I have to run a jumper wire between the 2 outputs. seem weird that this won't work.

anyone have an idea???
frustrated,
thanks in advance,
Bob..............

Is O:0/0 being used elsewhere in the program (turned off, when your logic is trying to turn it on?). If you post your PLC code, others may be able to diagnose faults a little easier