First Attempt at Logix5000

Bering C Sparky

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello.
Stayed after work tonight and finshed this while there was no one around to make me do something else.

My first attempt at Logix5000, it is a short program, not much to it.

I was hoping some of you may take a look and give me advice for how to better structure / organize things within the program before I put it out in the factory.

It was tough at first to get use to the Tag Structure instead of using a fixed given data table, so I am sure you will say the Tag Table is a mess.
But the more I played with it the more I started to like it.
Took me a bit to figure out the Clock, UDT and AOI but all are pretty nice to use.

I am sure there are lots of things in here that those with more experience can point out that should be done different or could be done better.
I am self taught and look forward to learning more from your comments and advice. [Place neck on chopping block]

Thanks in Advance.

BCS

Hello- only looked briefly, but i would say that if this is your first attempt, your a champ!
Only thing that confused me was your SCP for the Baader speeed reference. Should it be 0 for input minimum? your feedback is 0-75 but your reference going out is 50-75. Good stuff!

Quick Review

Sub10_Clock

Rungs 1-6 could be combined into 1 Rung. This would allow easier reading of logic with the same result of 6 Rungs.

Rung 7 You can't press and hold two buttons on a HMI. Touchscreen is captive. Only 1 press allowed. Timer has no preset. Also Timer.DN is not in program (maybe monitored by HMI?)

Rung 8 Reduce 7 Branches down to 3 again for easier reading of logic. Consecutive Moves Left to Right are the same as Consecutive Moves Top to Bottom. They just make better use of limited space.

Sub20_Sequencing_Bits

Not a fan of using coil to mirror image the Done Bit of your timer. They are the Same Thing.

If Timer2 is not done then Run Timer1
If Timer1 is done then Run Timer 2