OT: US Market Job Search Tips

Zes

Hi all!

In the next few months, I immigrated to the United States and I want to ask your advice on job search. I have not yet decided on the state, as yet I not fully understand which ones are more suitable for the job.

I have a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering and I've been working for systems integrator company for last four years. It's a pretty small company (actually 5 people only :)), so we do not work in one particular industry. Our major projects are for Pulp and Paper (paper machines, rewinders, roll handling systems etc.) and Metal-processing industries (slitting lines, roll grinding machines). All of them made with Siemens equipment, so I'm most experienced with Siemens.

We made some Poka-Yoke systems for Automotive industry (Nissan, GM, Toyota) with Omron and Panasonic PLCs. Several Amusement rides projects with Siemens, Sick and Unitronics. And a bunch of simple projects from small water treatment plants and ending with the winch for huge chandelier in the theater. Most of them use PLC running CoDeSys. Our current project involves train automation and I work with pretty specific PLC from Selectron.

Also I have experience with VFC (Siemens, SEW Eurodrive, Schneider-Electric etc.). Experience with industrial networks such as PROFIBus, PROFINet, MODBUS, CAN. Experience with a variety of HMI panels and a little experience with Siemens' WinCC.

So, all my experience tend with "european" equipment and AFAIK here in NA Rockwell is dominating on the market. I have no any hands-on experience with Rockwell and it's networks. I'm starting to learn RSLogix software but how to convince an employer to hire me w/o hands-on experience (with my communication skills it's may be a big problem :)).