CITECT to SLC500 Communication

lcoyne11

I am writing a program in RSLogix which will interface with a PC based CITECT application. I'm fairly new to the PLC world and have a question...

How do the two applications (logically) exchange data? In looking at other applications which interface to a CITECT it appears that no explicit read/write actions are required by my RSLogix program and that the CITECT reads and writes directly to & from bits defined in the RSLogix application. In effect, it appears that logical interaction with the CITECT is achieved in a similar manner as handling physical I/O with plant devices, but using binaries, numerics, etc.

Is this the case? Is some form of ascii read/write command required by the RSLogix application?

Thanks.

I'm not specifically familiar with Citec, but most PC based SCADA and HMI software operates using the same principle. The PLC logic works completely independent of the SCADA system, and the only adaptation in the ladder logic is making sure the data is available in PLC registers in the proper format for the SCADA software. For alarm bits, direct I/O reads, timer presets, etc. this may mean that nothing special is needed. For things like analog process variables this may require scaling or data format conversion and then moving or copying data into registers for the SCADA to access. I usually keep all my SCADA accessible data in a single block to simplify housekeeping and minimize communications, but it isn't mandatory.