siemens - vipa

sapoleon

Hi,
i just read the post Siemens and Allen-Bradley (15297). that remembers me, that we have a meeting last week from a representative here of vipa.
he told us a little of the history of vipa, and then he show us the plcs, and programed them with the siemens simatic software.
after that, he assures us, that the vipa are 100% compatible siemens, but bigger, more flexibles and more powerfull.
i just wanted to know if someone have worked with them before, and some opinions that you have.

thanks

I have no experience with working with them. But I have checked them out remotely quite a bit.

Others (on sps-foren.de in particular) testify that the VIPA CPUs are 100% compatible with regular i/o hardware, but NOT with specilty modules like the FMs and the CPs.
Code executes the same on the VIPA as on a Siemens CPU. Only the mentioned hardware and SFBs and SFCs for that hardware can give problems.

The biggest advantage with the regular VIPA CPUs as I see it is that some models have Ethernet built in.
Also they use a regular flashcard and not the specially formatted MMC card that Siemens does. Prices should be a bit lower than Siemens.
And, you can program them with a special serial cable that plugs into the MPI port. You can thereby save the expense for an MPI adapter.

There is also the new Speed7 CPU. This one is fantastically fast.
A small "gotcha" that I found is that the onboard Ethernet port only allows 2 connections (strange !).
A Speed7 CPU that is almost like a Siemens 315 comes with 1 MB onboard memory. However, to access more than 128kB require you to purchase a memory card with a release code (a peculiar way of doing business).

jesper,
yes, he shows us the speed7,
the reason they give for the ethernet connector limit, is that is the only way they have to sell the separated ethernet card ...

he did not mention the special card with code to enter the rest of the memory... good to know.