Logix on modbus

timmyh

I just started working on a project that will put a compact logix controller on modbus scada server. The server is running fix32 with MBR driver. This is a new remote site. The existing sites are modicon plcs. What I need ideas on are how to get the compact logix communicating over the modbus. We will be talking serially through RS-232. Here are my two ideas

1. Connect the RS-232 cable to the compact logix directly and use code to traslate the Compact logix to the mbr format. I talked to AB and they sent me a manual and sample code, but it looks pretty intense. If I go this route will it be worth it?

2. Connect serially to a pro-soft card. This seems like the easiest way but more money.

I would like to use option 1, but I dont want to spend a lot of time on it then switch to the pro-soft card. There is not a lot of time and I am still new to all this. Also we will be using DF1 radio to get this to the fix32.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
Tim

Unless you have a terminology error, this will not work at all. You state ifix32 is using a modbus driver, but then you also say you are using a df1 radio to get this to ifix. Which one is it?

If it is modbus, I would use the prosoft card. Leaves the DF1 port open for programming, panels, etc. I have never had an issue with a prosoft card, and their modbus is super easy in CLX

My fault, I got confused. It is modbus Here is what I got to go from

(1) Existing site has Intellution Fix32 using ethernet to communicate with local modicon PLCs. The Intellution SCADA server is also using an Intellution serial driver (a MBR) to communicate through a radio to remote sites. These remote sites are also modicon PLCs.

(2) A new remote site is being added to the system…4 VFDs and a couple metering pumps for chemicals