1761 net ini cant connect to configure

Dennis g

this is my first time posting usally you guys already have a thread with my answer. I have a 1761 net ini ser D im trying to connect using a belken usb to serial it starts uploading the says check cables and com port. I cant even ping the default ip address.

this is my first time posting usally you guys already have a thread with my answer. I have a 1761 net ini ser D im trying to connect using a belken usb to serial it starts uploading the says check cables and com port. I cant even ping the default ip address.

Try using the ENI utility first. It's important that you not have your COM port tied up with another process. If it's used in RSLinx, disable the driver.

Once you establish COMMS over the serial interface, you can assign a static IP address or select whether to obtain one from BOOTP or DHCP server.

I think that the 1761-NET-ENI utility was one of the last RA utility programs that wouldn't work with a USB/RS232 converter.

Because it's a Series D you can use the COM Port Redirector software (www.ab.com/micrologix) and use the utility that way.

Of course, you do need to find out the IP address.

First try the BOOTP/DHCP Utility to see if it's still set for BOOTP (if it's new, it will be) and then maybe try plugging it in to a switch while you're running Wireshark to listen for the ARP packet it will send out as a duplicate IP detection mechanism.

Ken,

I use a USB/232 converter with the ENI utility every time I use the utility. It is a Keyspan converter.

Shawn

I tried using the port redirection utility with no luck i tried to ping the factory ip and nothing. I can see the comm led flickering when trying to connect using serial. I closed rslinx and that didn't do anything. tommorrow i'm going to try another computer with a built in serial port. is there anyway to do a hard reset on this unit?