You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread October 8th, 2019, 08:07 AM   #1
qwemx
Member
India

qwemx is offline
 
qwemx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: UAE
Posts: 116
Book Job interview at Beumer group. Test program

I have been invited for an interview @Beumer group (Company)
During the interview they will also ask me to make a program
anyone here working in Beumer can give me an idea. I think the job is mid level
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 09:36 AM   #2
drforsythe
Member
United States

drforsythe is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 71
The purpose of them giving you a task to make a program is to test your experience and how well you approach a task with little time to think about it. It would not be in their best interest to give you info before the interview. If they have to give you the answer now and you get hired, then they will most likely have to give you the answers later, as well.
Just go to the interview and give it your best shot. If you are the best person available, then you will get offered a position. If they see you struggle a bit, you may still get an offer, but they may add some training to your objectives so both you and the company benefit.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 11:19 AM   #3
A_G
Member
United States

A_G is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 230
I agree with drforsythe. They probably want to see how well you know programming methods and your troubleshooting skills. I've never worked at Beumer but I've had two interviews where they wanted me to write a program in front of a senior engineer.

At one interview, they wanted me to program a latching circuit with a start button, stop button, pump contactor and emergency stop.

At another interview, they wanted me to open RSLogix5000, add a ControlLogix controller, add a Main program and create several empty Tasks.

By the way, at the first interview I accidentally swapped the Start button and Stop button. The interviewer said this is ok, because this kind of mistake is caught during testing.

I got both jobs.

If they ask you to do something you're not familiar with, try your best and explain how you would test and troubleshoot it.

Good luck!
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 11:49 AM   #4
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 2,704
I once had an interview where they wanted a simple state machine programmed, had one hour to do it.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 11:58 AM   #5
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,801
Ken
You do it and get the job?
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 12:31 PM   #6
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,495
I had an online test before an interview.

Opened a schematic, setup a CLX per the schematic.

Then had specific tasks to run an item. This included making UDT's, AOI's, periodic and event routines, ladder & statement list, and more.

The test was for 1 hour, but it would have taken a few hours to complete all the tasks. They said no-one has ever completed the task.

I came in second place.

This really is the only way to see if someone is capable of performing the work needed, and seeing how well they document and comment, see if they maintain a standard in naming and addressing, etc.
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 12:56 PM   #7
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 2,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRW View Post
Ken
You do it and get the job?
Test was pretty easy, no issue there. We could not agree on the value of my services.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 01:03 PM   #8
ceilingwalker
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ceilingwalker is offline
 
ceilingwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Moore View Post
We could not agree on the value of my services.
This is becoming more and more the case, I am finding. They require the experience but don't want to pay for it.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 01:08 PM   #9
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Moore View Post
Test was pretty easy, no issue there. We could not agree on the value of my services.
But they got a free program wrote for their machine
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 01:33 PM   #10
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
But they got a free program wrote for their machine
I had an "interview" for a maintenance tech position back in the early 2000's.

As a 'test' the owner had me look at a down machine to determine the cause and see if my answer 'concurred' with what his guy found. Quickly figured out he didn't have a 'guy' and wanted a free diagnosis. I told him that when I was hired I would fix it, otherwise my consulting fee was $300 per hour.
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 01:50 PM   #11
qwemx
Member
India

qwemx is offline
 
qwemx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: UAE
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aabeck View Post
I had an "interview" for a maintenance tech position back in the early 2000's.

As a 'test' the owner had me look at a down machine to determine the cause and see if my answer 'concurred' with what his guy found. Quickly figured out he didn't have a 'guy' and wanted a free diagnosis. I told him that when I was hired I would fix it, otherwise my consulting fee was $300 per hour.
++
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 8th, 2019, 01:50 PM   #12
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Moore View Post
Test was pretty easy, no issue there. We could not agree on the value of my services.
Now look at you... at Cross making 500k a year
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 10th, 2019, 12:22 PM   #13
qwemx
Member
India

qwemx is offline
 
qwemx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: UAE
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by drforsythe View Post
The purpose of them giving you a task to make a program is to test your experience and how well you approach a task with little time to think about it. It would not be in their best interest to give you info before the interview. If they have to give you the answer now and you get hired, then they will most likely have to give you the answers later, as well.
Just go to the interview and give it your best shot. If you are the best person available, then you will get offered a position. If they see you struggle a bit, you may still get an offer, but they may add some training to your objectives so both you and the company benefit.
I want to develop my career in automation and any good opportunity is not to be missed if some information like this can help me prepare better then it will be good. I am not very good in automation yet because my present company does not do many projects - I am self learning switching to a full time automation job even difficult will be good. but if they dont see my skills as sufficient then i wont be hired because there may be many more experienced people. I am focusing on the result- getting hired.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 10th, 2019, 12:55 PM   #14
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,083
I been on both side of the interview table many time and there's no rules on what to expect, even with the same company. My group have a totally different way to interview people than another across the hall.

just be brutally honest on your ability, shows that you are willing go above and beyond to learn and contribute.

Good luck.
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 10th, 2019, 04:25 PM   #15
Jeff23spl
Member
Canada

Jeff23spl is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 838
i don't think they are looking just for the end result but a lot more about how you end up there. The method and réflexions to find the solution.
I would rather hire someone with good logic and general skills than someone that learned questions and answers....
__________________
Siemens Addict
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Logicmaster 90 PLC Program Version Control Darren T LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 6th, 2018 09:25 AM
Subroutine philosophy Doug-P LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 31 February 11th, 2013 07:40 AM
Problems with Siemens CP340 RS232C communication Borte LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 February 17th, 2010 05:16 AM
S7 Program execution RMA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 19th, 2005 07:11 AM
SLC 5/03 data loss andydaoust LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 10th, 2002 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.


.