You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 12th, 2018, 02:22 PM   #1
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,663
Cabling help on Using 1761-CBL-PM02 as RS485 Modbus on 1100

So, I need a RS485 Modbus slave to do some testing.

Well, since I don't have any RS485 Modbus Slave sitting around but does have a Micrologix 1100, I went ahead and attempted to make it work.

Also, since I don't have a 1763-NC01 cable, which looks to me like a standard breakout, I'm using a 1761-CBL-PM02 mini-din to DB9 cable. Here's where I ran into some confusion. The RS485 2-wire should go on pin 4 and 5 of the NC01 which corrospond to pin 1 and 8 on the mini-Din. However, looking at the pinout for the PM02, pin 1 and 8 shows as 24V and GND, which makes no sense. Maybe it's only 24V/GND if it's configured as a RS232 instead of RS485?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 02:35 PM   #2
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,064
See Mickeys post... it may help

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showpos...66&postcount=5

Also starting at page 205 more info http://literature.rockwellautomation...m001_-en-p.pdf
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 03:17 PM   #3
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,663
Thanks, now I cross reference all the cable pinout that I see. I may not be able to do it with a 1761-CBL-PM02 because pin 8 is not even connnected to the DB9 side of things. Am I reading this correctly?

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...t=33944&page=2
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 03:35 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,534
The older MicroLogix controllers (1000,1200,1500) had +24V on Pin 1 and DC Common on Pin 8 so that they could power accessory devices like the Net-AIC, Net-DNI, and Net-ENI or the Hand-Held Programmer with a DIN8<->DIN8 cable.

In order to not damage a personal computer's RS-232 port, the 1761-CBL-PM02 cable does not connect to Pin 1.

By the way; that diagram posted in 2007 by Ron Doran was either a prank or just weirdly wrong. Knowing him, probably he just failed to check it.

The modern MicroLogix controllers (1100, 1400) jettisoned that +24V accessory power feature in favor of a non-isolated RS485 data port on Pins 1 and 8 (with data common on Pin 2), but you need either a custom cable or the 1763-NC01 breakout cable to access those pins.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 03:46 PM   #5
padees
Member
United States

padees is offline
 
padees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 362
Just for reference.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1763nc01.jpg (47.7 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 1761pm02.jpg (48.2 KB, 7 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 04:46 PM   #6
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,663
Thanks everyone, now I'm back to the drawing board. Oh, sharp eyes, the diagram looks very similar to the other PM02 diagram I seen but now I see it's "off".

Also, I had the thought to get some mini-8-pins cable or connectors to "roll my own" only to see that the AB mini 8-pin connector is different than the "standard" 8-pin mini-DIN. <facepalm> I guess I'll have to dig through the recycle bins in the plants to see what I can find.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 05:04 PM   #7
padees
Member
United States

padees is offline
 
padees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 362
I logged into our Tech Connect account and that is where my references came from. I do have a PDF print of 823750, but no clue as how to post a PDF.

The NC01's are simple to use with Modbus and ML1100, ML1400. Also quite cheap.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 05:07 PM   #8
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,534
I go dig through the bins at Re-PC for old Apple serial cables; those are 8-pin Mini-DIN with a similar locking collars.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 06:42 PM   #9
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,663
That's an interesting idea. The old Appletalk cable... worth a try. Thanks Ken.

http://www.interfacebus.com/Apple_MiniDIN_PinOut.html
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 09:22 PM   #10
padees
Member
United States

padees is offline
 
padees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 362
My thing is that an NC01 is only around 40 bucks. How much is your time worth?

Had a customer ask us if we could build an Automation Direct cable they can get for 30 bucks. Sure, but it might cost you 10x the price. Told our guy fielding this just to buy it and mark it up.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2018, 11:12 PM   #11
matthew1
Member
United States

matthew1 is offline
 
matthew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: virginia
Posts: 68
Not what your question was but we use this for HMI testing. May work for you. Always used Modbus TCP part of the simulator. http://www.plcsimulator.org/
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2018, 09:22 AM   #12
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,197
There are free modbus slaves out there but modbus poll and modbus slaves are good softwares. You would just need a 232 -485 converter to hook up your pc.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2018, 04:33 PM   #13
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by padees View Post
My thing is that an NC01 is only around 40 bucks. How much is your time worth?

Had a customer ask us if we could build an Automation Direct cable they can get for 30 bucks. Sure, but it might cost you 10x the price. Told our guy fielding this just to buy it and mark it up.
No disagreement there.

We have internal customer only and I would rather not talk about organization structure unless I'm lubed up with lots of beer and wine.

This project is 1/2 serious and 1/2 hobby.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethernet TCP/IP and Allen-Bradley CompactLogix (RSlogix 5000) CAAJ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 December 18th, 2015 12:46 PM
ModBus / RS485 timing / RedLion G310 AdrianEL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 20th, 2015 01:07 AM
RS485 4 Wire to 2 Wire for Micrologix 1100 69FIREBIRD LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 February 13th, 2013 10:47 AM
Modbus Master not polling the Modbus Slave through an EtherNet/IP Connection mihiri LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 15th, 2010 02:41 AM
Mitsubishi Q Series Modbus TCP module QJ71MT91 set up help req'd... Pocko LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 July 30th, 2006 02:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


.