You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 19th, 2020, 12:12 AM   #1
dcam
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dcam is offline
 
dcam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Merced Ca
Posts: 144
Trying to enable current out on a PFlex525

I've done this before a while ago. Feeling extra retarded tonight. Every time Try to download changed settings to drive it gives that yellow line in attached pict error. If I just try to download to processor it shows 2 errors, one for each drive I'm trying to change? (For a graphic in a Associated SE screen)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.jpg (24.2 KB, 43 views)
File Type: png xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.PNG (51.2 KB, 40 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 12:40 AM   #2
dcam
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dcam is offline
 
dcam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Merced Ca
Posts: 144
My solution

There was a PAX object associated with the VFD that did not like me changing the data file. I did a parameter read into the PFlex525 for the current with a message instruction.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 02:46 PM   #3
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,473
Did you set up the datalinks physically in the drive?
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 03:18 PM   #4
dcam
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dcam is offline
 
dcam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Merced Ca
Posts: 144
Yes I did. When I did I changed the exact data that the PAX object wanted to see (an additional INT for amps). This new job I am at uses PAX everywhere. I am acclimating to this. I actually got help from a senior programmer with this. He said that I could find the correct PAX object or do a PAR READ with a message instruction....I chose the later.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 03:35 PM   #5
Jim3846
Member
United States

Jim3846 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 77
525 is a bit flakey when you try to download on that initial time to setup the input and output tables. So if you repeatedly tried to download that first time, I have found if i reset the drive to factory defaults. That initial download will take. Yea i know you have to reprogram that IP, but its the only way that works.

But make sure you have it on RSLinx before you download with your program configuration.

Also, IO config tree for 525 is really flakey for L61 and L71 and sometimes for earlier CompactLogix plcs. So if it does not work on the IO config tree is to use CCW (connected components workbench). CCW will work where IO config tree goes south.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 03:54 PM   #6
dcam
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dcam is offline
 
dcam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Merced Ca
Posts: 144
Excellent info thank you. I had thought of a factory reset but lost my nerve due to the complicated parameters. Im sure I could have exported the parameter file....but I was scared......lol my boss is very critical and I am not super into being crucified for having a crucial system down.....Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 04:29 PM   #7
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 351
I see your using ccw. By chance is the drive still connected to the plc when you try the download? Even if the drive is stopped, if the drive is connected to the plc, ccw will not like it.

If so, Perhaps try to disconnect the drive from the plc and try the download again.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 10:00 PM   #8
dcam
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dcam is offline
 
dcam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Merced Ca
Posts: 144
Was using rslogix5000. I dont use CCW unless Im using micro800's. Ive heard the drive management is good on it. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 10:15 PM   #9
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 351
My mistake. The principal is still the same, try putting the plc in program mode and see what happens.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2020, 10:20 PM   #10
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 351
Just found this, although it says CCW I would believe the principle is the same. You need to inhibit the connection to whatever is controlling the drive. Plc, redundant Plc, etc to enable the data link. Or, follow the steps outlined in the article.

https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....US#__highlight

Last edited by _Dock_; November 20th, 2020 at 10:23 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allen Bradley contactor control - high pick up current rQx LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 March 27th, 2020 10:14 AM
Questions about Magnetization Current in Induction Motor bodoo23 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 24th, 2020 07:56 AM
ultraware - enable input active ubuandy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 25th, 2009 06:08 PM
4-20ma signals shoelesscraig LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 April 27th, 2009 04:00 PM
Speed Control Vs Current Control Moses LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 18th, 2005 10:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.


.