Siemens Step 7: What Software Development tool?...

Mas01

Please excuse the basic question, but I've never worked on Step 7 before (until now, only dealt with Mitsubishi Q-series PLCs)...

What is the software development tool I would need for working with Siemens Step7? i.e. to develop:
1. the ladder logic and
2. the HMI.

I think it might be SIMATIC, but I just want to check with other forum members.

I'm about to embark on such a project, hence the question.

Thanks

It depends on the platform, if the older 300/400 series then thereis legacy S7 V5.5 or something like that, there are versions of 300/400 that can use TIA which are generally used for 1200 & 1500. So be careful, a few years ago I needed to uprade S7 v3.x or what ever it was due to moving to corporate move from XP to Win 7, I spoke to our supplier & they told me to order TIA, this was a mistake as our processors were a version that you could not make changes in TIA, you could load the project & monitor but could not change any code.
I tried to return it but it would not be accepted because the seal was broke, had to order the S7 V5.5.

Thanks, I should add that this is a brand new project and the PLC hardware will be bought in brand new. In other words, it's not "legacy" PLC hardware/software.

So the actual software is called S7-xxxx too? And it's used for both the code and HMI? What is SIMATIC used for then?

The version I know of is TIA portal V17, not sure if there is a stripped down version as you need HMI programming so I suggest you check their site
The above version contains allsorts like drive setup etc. I would talk with Siemens to find what you need by the way it is expensive.
LD who has posted could probably tell you more

https://new.siemens.com/global/en/p...-software/automation-software/tia-portal.html

Thanks, I should add that this is a brand new project and the PLC hardware will be bought in brand new. In other words, it's not "legacy" PLC hardware/software.