You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back - Interactive Q & A > - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

View Poll Results: What brand would you consider?
APC 6 66.67%
Tripp Lite 1 11.11%
OEM / Roll your own 2 22.22%
Perpetual Motion 0 0%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 3rd, 2002, 02:16 PM   #1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States is offline's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N36 15.307' W119 38.828
Posts: 71
Question UPS for PLC (off topic)

I'm looking for some ideas for a UPS (uninteruptible power source) for a PLC. We have an AB PLC-5/40L with an external power supply (1771-P7) running some critical processes and need to prevent the PLC from rebooting during short losses to the supply power. I know this forum is for programming issues but I'm hoping that someone has run across this and I'm for some pointers in the right direction.
Thanks in Advance
  Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2002, 02:40 PM   #2
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

gbradley is offline
gbradley's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Corona, Ca.
Posts: 1,414
I voted for APC because it's the only one I've heard of.
Although Perpetual Motion is great when you can get it.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2002, 10:30 PM   #3

Doug_Adam is offline
Doug_Adam's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 949
I've been in similar situations in the past.
However, I found that careful use of memory areas, and ensuring the battery backup was working correctly, allowed the PLC to recover from a power outage and resume operation without needing a UPS.
I don't know about AB PLCs, but if you find a way of doing it you could avoid installing another piece of equipment.

  Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2002, 08:28 AM   #4
United States

WilWil67 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 19
Short Losses......

Your solution lies in the exactness of your problem. What type of time period does "short losses" entail? Have you thought of also going with redundant PLC's (if the process is that critical) in case of problems with the main processor. There is a section of configuration in AB PLC's (DIP switches on the rack) where you can configure the I/O to remain in it's last state when hardware failure occurs. A UPS would also ensure that your process remains safe. I would opt for all of the above actions.
Will Wilson
  Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2002, 08:53 AM   #5
Jiri Toman
United States

Jiri Toman is offline
Jiri Toman's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 498

I have used the following UPS: ONEAC #ON400XRA-SO

ONEAC used to make a UPS specifically for PLC's but for some reason
they have stopped making them. The above model does a good job,
it will hold up for at least 15 minutes.

For some projects it is necessary to have UPS and not
just a tracking filter or a good clean power supply.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2002, 09:16 AM   #6
United States

godfrey is offline
godfrey's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 403
UPS Specification

I prepare submittals based upon specifications prepared by the consulting engineering firm. Frequently a UPS will be in the spec. Sometimes they will give a minimum time that the system must run on battery. I do maximum load calculations and come up with a VA number. I like Powerware and Best. I have been using them for a few years.
  Reply With Quote
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
din mount UPS? g.robert LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 8th, 2004 12:38 PM
Inputs don't work on UPS power?? elevmike LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 June 18th, 2004 01:36 PM
Ups jcurado LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 April 23rd, 2004 01:04 PM
UPS to provide backup power to remote controllers Rmiller LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 14th, 2003 08:15 AM
Way off topic - RS232 Filter? Steve Etter LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 July 16th, 2002 12:41 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.