3-Wire Transmitter Analogue Wiring

jspann7

Hi Guys,

I have been looking around for an answer to my question and so far have had no success.

I have an AB 1762-OF4 module which is connected to a ML 1400 1766-L32BWA PLC. I need to run a proportional solenoid valve with the 4-20mA output of the module however I am stuck.

The solenoid is 12V DC but the 1762-OF4 is 24 DC. The solenoid is wired via a 3-wire transmitter - the power supply for the setup shares the common of the transmitter with the common of the analogue output. I know the analogue card doesn't output any power, it's merely a 4-20 mA signal.

I need to how I can get this to work considering I have two different voltage ratings for the transmitter and the analogue module.

My electrician originally asked me this question. I attached a diagram of the setup.

Also, if my question seems naive, it's because I'm actually a mechanical engineer.
icon12.gif

Thanks in advance.

3-Wire Transmitter.jpg

You can't wire a transmitter to an output card. They are both trying to control the loop.

Or am I missing something here. What is this transmitter?

Mickey,

I think that in the drawing, the 12 volt DC proportional solenoid is mislabeled "3-Wire Transmitter".

Edit: No wait, that will not make sense either. Something is wrong or missing, or this was done by a mechanical hack!

JS, What you posted is the standard wiring diagram for how to wire a 3-wire signal transmitter with it's own external power supply to a MicroLogix PLC Analog INPUT. But you said your proportional solenoid is wired to a 1762-OF4 Analog OUTPUT module. The twain ard different and shall never mix or work if you wire Outputs like a diagram made for INPUTS.

More information needed. What the heck is really going on? As Earthscape said' "Do you have the make and model of the solenoid"?

Last edited:
Mickey,