automation project blow down

garfields

Lifetime Supporting Member
I am an electrician and not a programmer. (read 0 experience) I did buy the book offered from this site over a year ago and i'm sad to say it is still collecting dust. This is for a car wash and will be a system to keep the wands from freezing. I have an existing temperature sensor that will close at 35 degrees to activate the

system.

1. contact close (blow compressed air with solenoid valve for 20 seconds)
2. wait 10 seconds and blow 10 more seconds
3. contact close (open solenoid valve to pump windshield washer fluid in for 20 seconds)
system would now be in standby until the next customer uses it (there is a 24 volt ac electrical signal that closes the motor starter to the pumps so this would be the start of a new blow down sequence after a delay of a few minutes after the customer is done using the bay.)

then same logic repeated for bays 2,3,4,5,6

When the temperature first drops to 35 for 10 minutes they would need to separately and in sequence operate automatically. After that if a bay was used it would go through the sequence by itself.

Looks like I would need 12 outputs and 6 inputs for the 6 bays then I would like a "master solenoid valve" ahead of both the air and antifreeze solenoid valves that open with each sequence so that in case of a stuck open solenoid valve I would have redundancy. I was looking at ezautomation.net and it looks like this plc would do the job. I am looking to pay someone to write this program. It needs to be written with free software and or equipment that I can get into and modify later. If you are a contributing member of this site and I can see that by looking at your past posts I would be glad to pay in advance. Thanks for reading.

Last edited:
There is a couple of questions that need clarifying.